Apollon Limassol vs Lazio: the probable starting eleven of the biancocelesti

Joaquin Correa celebrates his first goal in the biancocelesti jersey, Source- Official S.S.Lazio
Joaquin Correa celebrates his first goal in the biancocelesti jersey, Source- Official S.S.Lazio

Simone Inzaghi will have to deal with several absences in view of the challenge against Apollon Limassol on Thursday. In addition to Lucas Leiva – who will probably also miss the next Serie A TIM match against Chievo Verona – three other players were absent in today’s training session. These were Luis Alberto and Dusan Basta due to slight muscular discomfort and Adam Marusic for a flexor problem. All four will be spared for Thursday’s match and not called up, which strongly limits the choices on the right flank, as Patric and Jordan Lukaku are not included in the Europa League squad list.

The probable starting eleven? There are few players in the Lazio squad available and a turnover of the squad is essential to minimize potential injuries and tiredness. In goal, Silvio Proto will most likely start, giving Strakosha a break.  In defense, Stefan Radu will surely rest – Inzaghi would also like to give a break to Francesco Acerbi, but so far he is a likely starter (has not missed a game this season). To start beside him should be Luiz Felipe and Bastos. On the right flank, a possible start for Martin Caceres, as what happened against Marseille. On the opposite side, it will be Riza Durmisi.

The midfield trio will be completed by Alessandro MurgiaValon Berisha and one of Danilo Cataldi or Milan Badelj. The former Benevento man is ahead, while the Croatian will likely sit to recover for the Chievo Verona match.

Lastly, there are a few doubts about the offensive pair that will start. These two will be Joaquin Correa and Felipe Caicedo. Ciro Immobile will start instead from the bench.


Bastos, Acerbi, Luiz Felipe;
Caceres, Murgia, Cataldi, Berisha, Durmisi;
Correa; Caicedo.
Tags Adam Marusic Alessandro Murgia Bastos Danilo Cataldi Dusan Basta Felipe Caicedo Joaquin Correa Jordan Lukaku Lazio Luis Alberto Luiz Felipe Martin Caceres Milan Badelj Patric Riza Durmisi Silvio Proto Valon Berisha