FIGC: 2019/20 Serie A End Date, 2020/21 Serie A Start Date

The 2019/20 Serie A Football, Source- @SerieA

On May 20, 2020, the Italian Football Federation (FIGC) held a Federal Council meeting to discuss several matters pertaining to Italian football; this included both the 2019/20 season and 2020/21 seasons.

After the meeting, the FIGC announced that the 2019/20 Serie A, Serie B, and Serie C seasons must be completed by August 20, 2020; the 2019/20 Serie D season will not resume; the 2019/20 season would be allowed to be extended to August 31, 2020, to ensure the conclusion of the Coppa Italiathere is a desire to play all remaining fixtures in the three divisions; and the 2020/21 Serie A, Serie B, Serie C, and Serie D seasons can start on September 1, 2020.

FIGC President Gabriele Gravina led the meeting; below is the complete list of everyone else who was present.

  • Councilors for Lega Serie A: Paolo Dal Pino, Giuseppe Marotta, and Claudio Lotito
  • Councilor for Lega Serie B: Mauro Balata
  • Councilors for Lega Pro: Sibilia, Acciardi, Baretti, Frascà, Franchi, and Montemurro
  • Councilors for Lega Nazionale Dilettanti: Ghirelli, Baumgartner, and Lo Monaco
  • Councilors for the Italian Footballers’ Association (AIC): Damiano Tommasi, Umberto Calcagno, Sara Gama, and Gianluca Zambrotta
  • Councilors for Italian Football Coaches Association (AIAC): Renzo Ulivieri, Mario Beretta and Giatras
  • Councilor for the Italian Referees’ Association (AIA): Marcello Nicchi
  • The President of the Youth and School Sectors of the FIGC: Vito Roberto Tisci
  • The President of the Technical Sector of the FIGC: Demetrio Albertini
  • Director General of the FIGC: Marco Brunelli
  • The President the Women’s Football Division of the FIGC: Ludovica Mantovani
  • UEFA Vice President: Michele Uva
  • UEFA and FIFA Council Member: Evelina Christillin
  • European Club Association (ECA) President and UEFA Executive Committee Member: Andrea Agnelli

The fate of Italian football (2019/20 season) should be announced following a meeting between Minister of Sport Vincenzo Spadafora, the FIGC, Serie A, and other relevant stakeholders on May 28, 2020.

Tags Acciardi Agnelli Albertini Andrea Agnelli Balata Baretti Baumgartner Beretta Brunelli Calcagno Claudio Lotito Damiano Tommasi Federal Council FIGC Franchi Frascà Gabriele Gravina Gama Ghirelli Giatras Giuseppe Marotta Gravina Italian Football Federation Lega Nazionale Dilettanti Lega Pro Lega Serie A Lega Serie B Lo Monaco Lotito Marotta Mauro Balata Montemurro Nazionale Dilettanti Nicchi Sara Gama Serie A Serie B Serie C Serie D Sibilia Tisci Tommasi Ulivieri Umberto Calcagno Zambrotta