Lazio 2-1 Parma: Coppa Italia Round of 16 Match Report

By Steven Moore -

In the Round of 16 of the 2020/21 Coppa Italia, Lazio hosted Parma at the Stadio Olimpico.

Coming into this match, the Biancocelesti had just won the Derby della Capitale against Roma; as a result, coach Simone Inzaghi decided to start several non-starters, especially as they had another match against Sassuolo on the horizon.

Despite this, they were still able to grind out a 2-1 victory, but it took a late goal to get them across the finish line.

MORE: Lazio 2-1 Parma| Recap & Player Ratings

After hitting the post twice, first through Vedat Muriqi and secondly through Andreas Pereira, the first goal of this match came in the 23rd minute. The Manchester United loanee picked up the ball on the right flank near the sideline and whipped in a cross towards the Parma 18-yard box. Marco Parolo was unmarked and smashed a thumping header into the right side of the net, with goalkeeper Simone Colombi hopeless. 1-0.

Lazio had very little to offer after their goal apart from a Jean-Daniel Akpa Akpro shot that was well saved by Colombi in the second half. It was Roberto D’Aversa’s side who looked more likely to score the next goal of the match. After hitting the crossbar in the 72nd minute, they equalized in the 83rd minute. Giacomo Ricci sent a through ball in between Patric and Wesley Hoedt and Valentin Mihăilă finished the opportunity, placing his shot under Thomas Strakosha. 1-1.

While this match looked likely to be heading to extra time, Muriqi had other ideas. In the 90th minute, Francesco Acerbi whipped in a cross from the left flank towards the Kosovan who did very well to put power into his header. Although it hit the post, the ball bounced back off of Colombi to find the back of the net. 2-1.

MORE: Lazio 2-1 Parma | Vote for Your Man of the Match

Lazio will now face Atalanta in the Quarter-Finals on Wednesday, January 27, 2020.

Tags Andreas Pereira Biancocelesti Coppa Italia Gialloblu Inzaghi Lazio Lazio vs Parma Marco Parolo Muriqi Parma Parolo Pereira Roberto D'Aversa Simone Colombi Simone Inzaghi Vedat Muriqi