AC Milan’s Penalty Call Following Lazio Star Immobile’s Foul Was Correct

Referee Daniele Chiffi’s decision to award AC Milan a penalty following Lazio star Ciro Immobile’s foul yesterday was correct.

As reported by officiating expert Errori Arbitrali on Twitter last night, the 31-year-old Italian striker clearly fouled Franck Kessie in the extra time of the first half, with his challenge missing the ball and only hitting the 24-year-old Ivorian midfielder’s leg.

Kessie missed the resulting penalty (see here), but the decision to award one was correct regardless.

AC Milan Coach Pioli: “We Won Deservedly, Putting in More Quality Than Lazio”

Chiffi came under fire from the Italian press today though, following his failure to give Tiemoue Bakayoko a red card in the second half when he stamped on defender Francesco Acerbi’s ankle.

Lazio Midfielder Leiva: “We Were Not the Best Before, We Are Not the Worst Now”

Lazio deserved to lose the match against AC Milan yesterday, putting in a poor performance that clearly frustrated coach Maurizio Sarri too.

The Biancocelesti will have to pick themselves up quickly, however, as they will travel to Turkey to face Galatasaray in their Europa League opener on Thursday.

Tags AC Milan AC Milan vs Lazio Biancocelesti Ciro Immobile immobile Italy Lazio Lazio vs AC Milan Milan Rome rossoneri Serie A